Howdy

Introduce yourself!
lemm
4-bit nibble

Howdy

Post by lemm »

Hello folks,

I grew up playing DOS games on my Dad's 386 all throughout the 90's, and a couple years ago, I fell in love with modding the Commander Keen games (I only wish I had started a decade sooner!) Last year I decided to continue the ongoing, yet sporadic, communal reverse-engineering of the Commander Keen Galaxy series. The end result was a multiplayer Keen game that can be played over the internet thanks to the DosBox IPX tunneling functionality. (If you wanna play, check my sig).

I've seen a few DOS gaming communities, but I'm really excited about this one since there appears to be a large contingent of programmers who are making DOS games! (I see a few familiar faces already :D )

Lemm
NetKeen: Multiplayer Commander Keen!
MrFlibble
Forum Administrator

Re: Howdy

Post by MrFlibble »

Hello and welcome :) I'm not a programmer but I'm interested in modding old games among other things :D

I've also compiled a small list of various sites dedicated to DOS gaming (no warez or "abandonware", only legal stuff), you might want to check it out ;)
DOSGuy
Website Administrator

Post by DOSGuy »

Welcome to the site, lemm!

It's a small community, but we have some very knowledgeable and friendly regulars. It's been many years since I made a DOS game, but I did create a game last week that I'm looking forward to sharing with everyone.

Thanks for the great review of RGB, MrFlibble. I think it's fair and accurate. The only detail I would correct is that the petitions never led to a freeware release. Unless you can get a million signatures, I don't think any copyright holder cares about a petition. All but one of the games that I created a petition for were eventually declared freeware or made available for sale again, but the petition never had anything to do with it. Every freeware declaration that I have had a role in has been accomplished by simply writing or phoning the copyright holder.